Blog #9

Its Not Just The Support

“And learning communities are not simply about being supportive. For them to be evolutionary, they also require challenge, not as a contest for power, but to ‘help each other and check each others tendencies to purely idiosyncratic or self-interested thinking'” (Johnston 65).

This is so true. Some of the best writers I know, have been challenged so much. I love when teachers challenge my writing because it really does make it better. I remember a professor I had who always set up little workshops after every paper we wrote. It was so much more helpful because after what I thought was the perfect paper i was able to fix it to truly make it perfect.

I met a few first grade students who were extremely advanced for there age and they always wanted to be challenged. These students would actually tell the teacher that the work was too easy for them. This shocked me because they were so young to think that way, but they knew what they needed. Now these students never competed against one another. They just wanted to improve.

Supporting students also plays a huge role in a child’s life. Every student needs to feel supported and challenged by his/her peers and teachers. This will help them succeed.

2 thoughts on “Blog #9

  1. My favorite line(s) is “Supporting students also plays a huge role in a child’s life. Every student needs to feel supported and challenged by his/her peers and teachers. This will help them succeed.”

    I definitely agree that students need to be supported and, at the same time, challenged. When things seem to easy for students, then we, as future writing teachers, know it is time to move on to a different topic or challenge. Challenging, then, becomes an efficient way to ensure students are independent thinkers and writers.

  2. Natasha,

    I like the idea of a writer’s workshop after writing a paper. I think we approach writing differently if we know that we can come back to it again and polish it. This has been the first class where I have experienced such a luxury and I plan on offering it to my students as well. As for Johnston’s quote, I think there is a lot to “learning communities” and support is very important, but I also think that finding a balance between challenges and achievements is critical. Finally, I too agree that supporting a child is pivotal to their learning lifestyle. Just as we will need support being first year teachers, our students will need it too!

Leave a Reply

