What To Do, How To Learn

“People who come from different cultural backgrounds often encounter difficulties in their interactions” (Jonson 7).

I was able to relate to this the most because I am Assyrian. Assyrian is the first language I spoke, so in school I spoke Assyrian to all the other little Assyrian children I knew. Looking back on my childhood I remember having a difficult time interacting with the other students. I feel like this made my ability to learn more difficult as well.

I went back to this teachers classroom last year to visit her classroom. I noticed there was one boy in particular who was having a difficult time in class and on the playground. He was a little Hispanic boy and in school for the first time. I noticed he was having a difficult time interacting with the other students and not many students were willing to help him.

“The teacher has to make something of what children say and do. She makes sense for herself, and offers a meaning for her students” (Johnston 5).

The best teacher’s are the ones who can relate to their students. I remember my first grade teacher, she was the best teacher i have ever had. I still remember that her class focused around her students. Recently, I visited her class and I was able to watch her in action. I noticed when she taught language lessons she used examples from the students everyday lives. For example, what the students did during their break.

5 thoughts on “What To Do, How To Learn

  1. Hi Natasha,

    I almost wrote about the same quote you chose. I totally agree with you about how different cultures may learn differently and that teachers need to be aware of all cultures in their classroom. Oh and your dog is so cute too! I wish we could bring our dogs to school and they could have a play date 🙂

  2. I don’t have a story like that, but I agree with these cultural issues in classrooms. That’s why I liked what Johnston writes about how teachers must work to communicate and relate to all their different students. I really like the quotes you chose too.

  3. Natasha, thank you for weaving in personal connections. You picked two great quotes from Johnston’s book. Do you like his style as a writer? Think of this in future posts. It’s not required, but it’s another way of reading for craft that I value and that’s valuable.

Leave a Reply

